I was nominated for a Liebster Blog Award!

I was recently nominated for a Liebster blog award.

I must admit that when I first saw the notification that I was nominated I had no idea what it was. As a new blogger of only 10 posts in, I am still getting used to the blogging world. Now I have done my research I am so excited and honoured to have been nominated. It may not be a big deal to some but for me I cannot thank Stacey Rose for the nomination. On the 1st of September 2017 I decided that I wanted to share to others my experiences and life with mental health. I was terrified when I first clicked ‘publish’ after writing my first blog post but now I am so excited to continue this journey knowing I am sharing with others and hope to help people in a similar situation as me and to make sure mental health is spoken about so together we can stop the stigma.

Anyway, enough abut me! They call me Stacey by Stacey Rose (my nominator), is a fantastic blog and I recommend everyone to go check it out. The way Stacey writes about the ‘The Mental Health Hangover‘ is bloody fantastic. When I first read it I had never thought about it being put like that and it made me feel great relief that it wasn’t just me who felt quite horrific the day after I have had a bad day mentally. Thank you Stacey Rose for the nomination and for describing the mental health hangover so beautifully. I look forward to reading more of your blog posts. Check out her page here: http://staceyroseblogs.blogspot.com/

Before we begin finding out some facts about myself I wanted to share with you all one of my favourite blogs to read at the moment. When I first began to research about how to be a blogger and explore others that have wrote about mental health I came across a blog called ‘The Mental Blocks‘. The blog uses pictures of various Lego scenes to paint a picture of peoples life with mental health and detailing how people feel when they suffer from mental health problems. As someone who is dyslexic and finds it difficult to take in and read a lot without getting lost or distracted, the comic-like Lego stories help to keep me engaged and paint the picture perfectly. If this sounds like something that’s up your street, check it out using this link: http://www.thementalblocks.com/?p=568

Here are my answers to Stacey’s questions:

What is a fact about you that most people don’t know?

I have farted in public several times and it doesn’t seem phase me. Hmm… Maybe shouldn’t put that. I have something that i like to call sniffy fits. For those who don’t understand what this means, when i see something cute (for example a dog or cat) I like to go up close and inhale and exhale out of my noise really quickly whilst pulling a rather ridiculous face. My brother has a similar trait so I believe it may be genetic.

Which blogger do you look up to the most?

As a new blogger I look up to many blogs and learn so much from other blogger including: Stacey Rose-They call me Stacey and Cara Lisette- Moodsmedsmeals. Giovanni Fletcher- Giovanna’s world is a blog I have admired for a while. It is open and honest and great fun to read. Something I hope my blog will be too.

Would you ever consider doing you tube?

I wouldn’t ever say no to doing you tube. I follow a few vloggers and really enjoy watching and listening to their weekly posts on you tube. I don’t have much confidence in general life anyway, so to become a frequent vlogger on you tube I would need to have quite a number of people egging me on. So you never know. If this blogging thing continues t go well and I continue to get support then you tube may be on the cards!

If you could meet any fictional characters who would it be?

Oh man this is hard… This is one of those questions that when someone asks you, your brain completely empties and you find yourself not even knowing what a fictional character is anymore.

48 hours later………

Ahh got it! Sherlock Holmes (Cumberbatch one). He is such a fascinating, handsome (did i just say that out loud), clever guy. He doesn’t care what people think about him and even though he doesn’t quite fit in to “normal society” he is the confidence to be who he is. Yes I am sure on that answer, I think Sherlock Holmes could definitely teach me a thing or two.

What’s your most vivid childhood memory?

I have far to many memories for one to stand out and be the most vivid.

However, my families Easter Sunday picnic tradition will always be a vivid memory for me. Each year was a different theme and everyone was to dress up as something from that theme. From Olympics to Royal wedding’s and from what you wanted to be when you were younger to my big fat gypsy wedding. Whatever the theme the day out was a successful, egg rolling, bag pipe playing (typical Scots), rounders competitions, BBQ’ing, laughter, family filled day out and these memories will stay with me forever.

My mad family at Whiteadder with bagpipes and BBQ’s celebrating Royal Wedding style!

Do you believe in a “5 year plan”?

Noooo. I am so chaotically unorganised in life. I cant even remember to take my thyroid tablets?! (Yes, I have forgotten to take them again since my last post). Its nice to know the next step in life if I can but there are so many things I want to do and see and life throws so many curve balls along the way, who is gonna know what will happen next?

What’s your favourite item of clothing that you have ever owned?

Oh that’s a hard one. It would probably need to be something cosy. I want to say my soft cloud throw from Asda but that’s not something i have the courage to wear outside of the house.. yet!! Hmm actually I have a really cool skirt that i call my “Brighton skirt”. As someone who has always lacked in confidence especially when it came to fashion I am very grateful for my mum and Granny. They have such cool, admirable styles and if it wasn’t for them I would be following the crowd and ultimately hiding the real me. My Granny bought me this skirt and it is one of the coolest things in my wardrobe and something I feel very confident to wear!

Where is your favourite place to visit?

Oh another hard question. There are so many places that mean a lot to me: The Angel of the North, Whiteadder (based in East Lothian, Scotland) and Chatsworth Estate. I think Whiteadder would trump the other two as this was the location of our first ever family Easter Picnics. A very picturesque palace that holds so many beautiful memories.

I feel now is a good time however to mention that my own bed is another one of my favourite places. Whenever I feel sad, lonely, anxious or down my bed is always there to comfort me and it never judges me when I decide to take a my 14th nap of the day. cheers bed!

Whiteadder. You may recognise this from the picture above!
Stunning Whiteadder. A place that will always be very close to my heart. A place that will always remember the Vidler clan

Who has had the biggest impact on your life?

This is an easy answer. On the whole my entire family have had the biggest impact on my life. They have taught me so many things and in particularly how to love and be loved. With a special mention to my Granny and Grandad who have created such a fantastic and loving family raising 5 children and 14 grandchildren. My G and G have passed on their wisdom, knowledge, love and support to our family and extended family. I cannot thank them enough and hope that I can continue to make them proud with everything that i do and achieve. My G and G are my inspirations in life and I could not be the person I am today without all they have done.

Does everything happen for a reason?

I 100% believe that everything happens for a reason. I really like this question because if i get so anxious and worried and over emotional with a lot of things that happen in my life, I will remind myself that everything happens for a reason it helps me to cope through certain aspects of life. My religious background may have something to do with it because i do believe that God has a plan for us all.

If you could only eat one thing for the rest of your life what would it be?

Well this was another one of the easiest questions of them all. It would definitely, without a doubt, Vapiano`s carbonara pasta dish. For those of you that don’t know, Vapiano is an Italian chain restaurant that firstopened in Germanyon the 22nd of October 2002 (the day before my 9th birthday! My goodness that makes me feel so old!!!). You will find Vapiano`s in various cities across the world. I have visited two out of three restaurants in London (both more than once) and the Manchester restaurant. In DecemberI will hopefully get to visit the brand spanking new Edinburgh restaurant and I am sitting patiently waiting for them to open up at restaurantin Brighton. It would make me so freaking happy but also wouldbe dangerous for both my wallet and health. You see, if i could eat pasta everyday of my life, i would. But i cant so i wont but will continue to dream that i can. Thanks Vapiano`s for making an amazing dish that satisfies my taste buds more than anything!

The best dish ever. Lovely lovely Vaps!

Questions for my nominees:

1) What made you start blogging?

2) Since starting blogging has it changed your life? If so how has it changed your life?

3) If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?

4) Book or Film?

5) Favorite chocolate bar?

6) Who do you most aspire to be?

7) What is your biggest dream?

8) What did you want to be when you were younger?

9) If you could change one thing about the world what would it be?

10) Night in versus night out?

11) What would be your ideal Christmas present?

I nominate…

1) Han Zolo – https://nolightwithoutdarkness.com/

2) Mental Health Smurf – https://mentalhealthsmurf.wordpress.com/

3) The Mental Blocks – http://www.thementalblocks.com/?p=568

4) Sofie to Korea – http://sofietokorea.com/

5) Johnny Board – United against mental health – https://t.co/QTuHYNfv7B

I hope you have as much fun as I did! Here are the rules on how to enter.

Cheerio for now.

Mads.

3 thoughts on “I was nominated for a Liebster Blog Award!

  1. Great reading Madeleine,
    especially after the most difficult of times this week. Writing makes you feel better and gives us all a better understanding of how you feel. Please don’t give it up. Xxxx

    Like

Leave a comment